Never Give Up!

Standard

 

Diana Nyad is the first person who swam from Cuba to Florida successfully. She was no young Olympic athlete – she was 64 when she swam across the open waters! She failed multiple attempts but never gave up, which ultimately led her to success. She gives a speech for Ted which you can watch here.

 

After listening to this woman’s story, I guess I have absolutely no excuses. For anything. Certainly nothing in this class! I already knew this for AP Bio because I put a lot of effort into my work, most notably my Stop Motion on neurotransmission, and saw results. I’m not saying I’m going to see results every time because Diana didn’t, but it still feels good knowing that you tried your best, no matter what.

I have this mindset fairly well ingrained in me, partly thanks to my mom. She always tells me if you’re going to do something, you might as well do it well. If you don’t, don’t do it at all. I’ve quickly realized this. This goes a little more into work ethic, but I believe it’s intertwined with determination. I am not easily set back by challenges and face them head-on. I am a pretty goal-oriented person and can handle delayed reward, and I think that has to do a lot with why I persevere easily.

With that being said, there is one thing in my immediate knowledge that I know I need to work on. That is exercise. I’ve always wanted to be that urban adult who runs 15ks ever since I was a little girl. Ms. Girard has inspired me to keep my body moving before my muscles atrophy, and since junior year when people told me I was always tired and sleepy because I had no oxygen and needed to exercise, I have been very motivated. It’s hard not to make excuses when I have school and work, but why sacrifice my well-being for things like that?

Ever since I started boxing over the summer, I realized how low my stamina was. I have been going on runs, not for very long, but runs nonetheless and love the feeling of getting my heart rate up. There is nothing as rewarding as physically feeling pushed, but also mentally overcoming the excuses I make. It’s still a challenge for me. I still tell myself I don’t want to run even though immediately after a run, I feel great and tell myself to do it every day. I can’t wait to hit the point where it just becomes automatic, but until then, I have to push past the barrier of starting a new habit.

I know that I want this enough for myself to work hard at my goal. And this goes for everything, not just boxing or running. I really can never say never! You can’t either!

3 thoughts on “Never Give Up!

  1. I really liked your blog post! The post has a lot of voice and it seems like you spent a lot of time reflecting on the video. To elevate the post you could maybe add some more media and links. Overall I thought your reflection was thorough and thoughtful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle, You are certainly someone who never gives up. I have seen this time and time again when you are challenged in class. I am inspired by your perseverance and know that your grit will help you succeed! Keep up the running and boxing and taking care of yourself too 🙂

    Like

  3. Edith Leung

    You are talking about me in your blog post! Good, my repeated lectures seem to be working…

    Good job running every day! You better keep it up before you become old like me and cant use your muscles as much. Trust me when I say it’s painful.

    Want to go to Cuba again? You can swim your way back to Miami and save me the money for flight ticket.

    Never give up. You are right. If you do something, do it well. When it’s time to play, it’s time to play. When it’s time to work, it’s time to work. As I always say. Nice to know you learned something from me!

    Love ,
    Mom 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

